Nice to meet you!

Hello everyone, I hope you’re enjoying the arrival of these hot May days! I’d like to take a moment to introduce myself to you. I’m Julie Cushing, and I am the new Structured Education Coordinator with the Prevention Team here at Hope Alliance. I’m a native Austinite, with a Bachelor’s degree in Social Work and a Master’s of Public Health from UT. I have experience with school-aged youth in both teaching and case management and I am really looking forward to taking my personal passions for social justice and equality and applying them in the classroom to help put an end to sexual violence.

I’m also a mom to a 12 year old son, so violence prevention education with students is especially relevant to me as I help usher a boy into manhood. I wanted to take a moment to talk about ways those of us with kids in our lives can incorporate “heavy” issues like consent and respect into our everyday interactions in age-appropriate ways. Fostering open communication about boundaries, bodies, and behavior can help us help kids establish lifelong healthy habits and keep us connected with children as they grow and start to tackle more complicated issues.

Current events unfortunately show us the importance of tackling these issues early and often, but starting the conversation doesn’t have to be scary! The Good Men Project has a great starter list of ways to guide kids of all ages in setting and respecting boundaries and developing an understanding of some of the issues that underlie sexual violence. Items on the list include ways to foster the development of empathy, avoid objectification of other people, and encourage kids to help stand up for others. The lessons here can help adults guide kids in getting to know themselves and their feelings and develop a positive sense of identity to make good choices. Check out the link for ways to help raise up the next generation of empowered youth!

 

Image

 

I look forward to working with all of you. Have a safe and happy Memorial Day!

-Julie Cushing, Structured Education Coordinator

Leave a comment